top of page

Magic, Mystery & Sexual Tension

You guys probably already know how much I love magic. Somehow I have always been drawn to it, so, for as long as I can remember, I have been reading anything and everything I could find about witches, warlocks, and even wicca (but I will talk about that in another post). I read fantasy, paranormal romance, urban legends and all sorts of books that had magic and/or magical creatures in them.


I'm also a huge fan of vampires, by the way (I think that apart from mermaids and witches, they are my favourite magical creatures). Oh, and ghosts, of course. There isn't a better scare than a good old ghost story. But where was I?


Recently I talked about one of my new favourite genres (Reverse Harem Romance), and I have been reading and writing in this genre for almost a year now. However, as I'm so drawn to witches and magic, I occasionally look for something to satisfy my curiosity and provide me with a healthy dose of abracadabra.





As it happens, I found three series that I always wanted to read, but I kind of kept them on my bucket list, saving them for a special occasion, you know? Like you would do with your best underwear. I figured that if I waited till the moment was just right, then I would enjoy them more.


But things happened recently that made me realise that we never know when time runs out. I believe it was a picture that made things click into place. It was intended to be funny, but to me, it was more bittersweet. In it, two detectives were shaking their heads at a woman who got crushed to death by the books on her nightstand - the ones she piled up for a special occasion, yet never getting the chance to finish them.


I decided that I didn't want to be that woman.





So, I dug those books out of my Kindle library (yes, having them as paperbacks is still on my birthday and Christmas wish list), and began reading. One after the other, without thinking much about which one to start with. And oh my!! Never have I regretted waiting for something so much in my entire life.


You probably heard of them, but just in case you haven't, I will include them in this blog post, because they are genuinely awesome. Magic is combined with mystery and in some of them, bone chilling action. The common factor is the uniquely awesome characters though and their witty dialogues and heated tension...


They are all book series, and I would recommend reading the books in order within a series, but the order I put the series in doesn't reflect my preference. I fell in love with all of them for different reasons, and I think you will, too.






If you have already read some of them, or if you do now, let me know what you think. I'm even thinking of creating a book club if there is enough interest. A book club where we could select our monthly reads, then review them, helping those authors. As you know, I'm a huge advocate for that sort of things, knowing it from my own experience how important reviews are.


But once again, I will talk about that in a later post (as long as I make a note of all the things I promise to talk about, we should be fine, haha), and for now, have a look at these hidden gems. Hope you enjoy them as much as I did :)



 

~o~


Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas


~o~


Meet Celaena Sardothien.

Beautiful. Deadly. Destined for greatness.


In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake. She got caught.


Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament - fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin's heart be melted?



 

~o~


The Watchmaker's Daughter by C. J. Archer


~o~


India Steele is desperate.


Her father is dead, her fiancé took her inheritance, and no one will employ her, despite years working for her watchmaker father. Indeed, the other London watchmakers seem frightened of her. Alone, poor, and at the end of her tether, India takes employment with the only person who'll accept her - an enigmatic and mysterious man from America. A man who possesses a strange watch that rejuvenates him when he's ill.


Matthew Glass must find a particular watchmaker, but he won't tell India why any old one won't do. Nor will he tell her what he does back home, and how he can afford to stay in a house in one of London's best streets. So when she reads about an American outlaw known as the Dark Rider arriving in England, she suspects Mr. Glass is the fugitive. When danger comes to their door, she's certain of it. But if she notifies the authorities, she'll find herself unemployed and homeless again - and she will have betrayed the man who saved her life.


With a cast of quirky characters, an intriguing mystery, and a dash of romance, THE WATCHMAKER'S DAUGHTER is the start of a thrilling new historical fantasy series from the author of the bestselling Ministry of Curiosities, Freak House, and Emily Chambers Spirit Medium books.



 

~o~


The Elemental Origins by A. L. Knorr


~o~


Targa MacAuley feels more at home on dry land than in the watery realm of her mermaid ancestors. After 17 years on solid ground, she fears she’ll never grow into the creature her mother hoped she’d become. To keep her mom’s homesickness and true identity under wraps, Targa signs on for a mysterious salvage dive in the Baltic Sea.


Her plan to blend in with the rest of the crew is spoiled when she catches the eye of a handsome local. A freak accident and a strange connection to the ancient shipwreck below attract even more unwanted attention. With both her mom’s secret—and her life—in danger, Targa must finally find the courage to unleash the currents surging deep within.


Born of Water is the first book in The Elemental Origins, a series of captivating YA urban fantasy novels. If you like new twists on mermaid lore, simmering romance, and close-knit mother-daughter bonds, then you’ll love A.L. Knorr’s nautical adventure.

Embark on a deeper dive into the story's lore with The Wreck of Sybellen, a companion novel included with the book.





 

~o~


And don't forget, by following this link, you can get 3 months FREE Kindle Unlimited:




Enjoy, and happy reading :)


~o~

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page